Reviews 2016

Bikecat reviews 2016

Reviews 2016   2015 /2014 /2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009

Stefan Baerg

Bikecat - Mariposa Pyrenees to Girona Tour 2016 StefanWhat an amazing tour! You were all tremendous hosts and every detail was looked after. A trip of a lifetime and memories that I will take with me forever!
I just wanted to thank you again for an absolutely amazing tour! Together with the rest of the team at Bikecat, you have truly created a once in lifetime experience. As the tour unfolded before us each day, every aspect and detail was perfection. From when we first met you at the airport and received our guidebooks for the week, I was truly impressed. The hotels, the food, the rides – there is nothing that I would do differently. Most importantly, the hospitality of you and your team was top notch. You are a great bunch of guys and together provided that special ingredient that made the trip so unique and special. My only wish is that we could ride together more often! We will most certainly be back again – hopefully sometime soon!


Stefan – Mariposa Cycling Tour: Pyrenees to Girona Tour with Michael Barry, September 2016




The Pyrenean Eight

The Pyrenean Eight with Michael BarryWe would like to thank each of you and your companies for joining up to create such an incredibly unique riding and touring experience. Your hard work, professionalism, attention to detail, bikes, being such quality people, cheerfulness, openness, sincerity, route planning, unique hotels and dining experiences set you far above all other tour operators. Most importantly, the genuine interest, friendliness, and care taken by each of you for each of us is so sincerely appreciated. You will forever be known to each of us as friends. Well Done! Thanks to each of you for making each of our trips exceptional and richly full of many amazing lifelong memories!

Sidney Stacey
An extraordinary time in a beautiful place. You guys are the best. Best wishes and I hope to return.
Mark Grant
Thanks for an incredible week! I´ll remember this forever.

James Peters
My legs are tired – but my spirit is full!

Alan Jette
Guys, another great trip. Your spirit, enthusiasm and professionalism are unparalleled.


The Pyrenean Eight – Pyrenees to Girona with Michael Barry – September 2016




David Harper

Bikecat - La Ruta Mar i Muntanya Cycling Tour 2016It was an outstanding week and I am still replaying those great rides in my head. We thank you all for giving us such a great experience. I am sure I will be back to Girona soon.
Having Michael Barry riding with us just made it all so perfect with his many years of riding it the region and his stories of life as a pro cyclist. To ride the roads, he trained on for many years was a wonderful experience and I am ready to do it all again. I have been telling anybody who will listen how wonderful Catalonia is, the people, the country side, the food the Bikecats.
Thank you again for making this a great experience for us.


David – La Ruta Mar I Muntanya with Michael Barry – September 2016




Jan Lewis

Bikecat - Runaways Road Trip to GIrona 2016 - JanThanks so much for the great pictures. The week was one of the best in my life. I really appreciate everything you did and all the on the road support you gave me. Below is a review you are welcome to publish if you so wish.

I just finished a 7 day bike trip with BikeCat. This trip was truly outstanding. As a staff member for a cycling touring company, I am well aware of what it takes to run a successful bike tour: planning, attention to detail before and during the ride, pre-trip communication with riders, support on the road, providing quality hotel accommodations, establishing routes, high-quality meals, and support staff who understand the individual needs of the riders. BikeCat exceeded my expectation in all these areas. They provided me with a high-quality bike rental which alleviated the need to drag my bike through the airports. I was amazed at how they provided routes and support for our group which included riders of very different ability levels. We all felt supported and comfortable with the distances and difficulty of the rides. The staff was extremely supportive of my lack of e parties in both climbing and descending. They made me feel comfortable and provided some individual technique coaching. To top off the experience Hotel Historic was a great place to stay and we were introduced to a real variety of Spanish cuisine.


Jan – Runaways Road Trip to Girona – October 2016




Brick

Bikecat - Runaways Road Trip to GIrona 2016 BrickWe did a custom tour for five riders with a range of abilities and interests. We were greeted with a hard-backed book detailing in pictures and words our proposed ride plans for the week. Bikecat provided incredible support, planning routes that matched the riders and somehow magically had us meet at the same time at a designated lunch spot. We almost always had a support van nearby and two guides riding with us who encouraged us, gave cycling hints and explained local landmarks or customs. The food was superb albeit more than I should have consumed. The Hotel Historic was a gem, a restored building dating back to Roman times. As we turned a corner in the stone walled lobby I felt it equally likely I would see a bicyclist or a Roman centurion. Bikecat asked for detailed measurements in advance so that the rental bikes matched our left at home gems. The bike fit was spot on. I was in awe that the bike was a Team Garmin bike formerly ridden by Tour de France cyclist Tim Duggan–very very sweet bike but its rider for the week needs lots of work.

Marlene – Girona Cycling Tour – October 2015




Chris

Bikecat - April 2016 - Chris & Duncan-16“As promised, I’ve written a piece relating to Bikecat and our time we spent with you. Hopefully it expresses what a wonderful holiday Duncan and I enjoyed. It’s just been published by Headset Press:
headsetpress


Chris – Weekend Tour in Girona – April 2016








Duncan

Bikecat - April 2016 - Chris & Duncan-31“Thanks for a great holiday. The company was great, the food was great and of course the cycling was excellent.
I had a wonderful time and you have a beautiful city and surrounding countryside.
Many thanks for waiting for me on the hills, and for all the great photos.
Also please thank everyone at the hotel Historic for a lovely place to stay.
I hope I have the chance to ride with you both again.
All the best
Salut


Duncan – Weekend Tour in Girona – April 2016




Family Tour in Girona

Bikecat-Family Tour 2016We wanted to send you a note to thank you for the great trip we had cycling with you in Girona. Simply put, the trip far exceeded our expectations.

When we first started planning and discussing this trip with you, we weren’t sure how a family cycling trip of 5 people would work, particularly when it included children aged 17, 16 and 10 (and the fact that we are certainly not “hard-core” riders). We fully expected that after the first day, we would have had to modify the trip and what we did each day (which you explained was easy to do). That said, it was amazing how well the rides worked as originally planned by you both (including the options you included with each day), particularly in terms of length, total climbing, variability and suitability for everyone in the family. Having the van as support proved to very valuable as it gave some flexibility for everyone and also was a great “backup plan” in the event that some young legs (or old legs) were getting too tired. The van also enabled us to do some one-way rides and have a comfortable drive home after a long, late lunch (by our standards anyways) which really added to the enjoyment factor for us all.

Some of the highlights for each of us:

Mike and Genevieve (dad and mom) – “On top of the spectacular riding and scenery, we most enjoyed having the experience together with our kids and watching everyone support each other as we explored and tested our personal limits in a very positive way.”

Liam (17 years old) – “Being able to push myself up the climbs with Jaume and Albert challenging me both physically and mentally. It was also fun to learn much better technique on the downhills.”

Amelia (16 years old) – “This trip really opened my eyes to the enjoyment of cycling which I hadn’t experienced before.”

Michael (10 years old) – “I didn’t think I would be able to ride 40kms in one day especially going up some really big hills. I also really liked Albert’s and Jaume’s company in the van when I wasn’t riding (and the extra candy)”.

Finally and more important than anything, thanks to you both, this trip really ended up being a very positive and family building adventure for us all that we believe brought us a little closer together.

Please feel free to pass on our contact information to anyone else who may be planning a similar type of trip as we would be pleased to be a reference for your services and more fully pass on our great experience.


Mike, Genevieve, Liam, Amelia and Michael – Girona Family tour – March 2016

Ps – thanks for the pictures, they are fantastic and will be enjoyed for years.