Reviews 2015

Bikecat cycling tours reviews 2015

Reviews 2015   2016 /2014 /2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009

Mark and Petrina

reviews 2015 bikecatWow, we may never go anywhere else except to Girona with Jaume, Debbie and Albert for an extended off-season bike trip. Bikecat was truly an amazing experience from the luxury accommodations, fantastic regional wine and cuisine to the stunning foothills and snow topped mountains of the Pyrenees.
Everything was perfect. Easy to plan, beautiful high end bikes to ride and great weather. Our daily excursions down the less travelled roadways and up the hills were challenging, terrific fun and displayed Jaume’s unparalleled knowledge of the local terrain and his ability to match it to our skill level! Plus we have the pictures to prove it… great shots courtesy of the folks at Bikecat. Thank-you again for the awesome adventure!

Mark and Petrina – Girona Training Camp, November 2015




Lisa

Bikecat - Girona Tour 50 - Cycling in Girona - LisaIt will be the little things that I will always remember about our time with you all in Girona. The way that you cared about every detail and made sure that we were challenged and had a good time despite our different abilities on the bike. The way you all would scatter in orderly chaos at the traffic circles to protect us from cars. The beautiful mountains and landscape that would seem to pop up out of nowhere and suddenly make you forget how tired your legs were. The grins that you could always expect from Joaquim when you smiled at him and whispered in his ear. It was an unforgettable trip and an unforgettable way for me to celebrate my 50th year of life. Gràcies!

While we will never be able to relive all of what made this trip unique, we will return to enjoy the beauty of your home again and conquer our mountains with Bikecat by our sides. Next trip, I may even talk while climbing the mountains.


Lisa – Girona Tour 50 – October 2015




Hugh

Bikecat - April 2015 - A2 Roadies Meets Dali-HughJaume and Debbie,
Just returned home to Ann Arbor and wanted to say thanks for an absolutely wonderful week. You guys really went to great lengths to make our stay comfortable, happy, challenging and fun. We all agreed that this has been the best tour we have had – the group gelled well and everyone mixed in nicely but the effort put out by you guys Jordi as well really made the trip what it was. Thanks so much for going out of your way in terms of food for me – it is difficult for you to do this but I think it helps me health wise in terms of kidney issues that I have had .
Absolutely loved the village of Girona – the scenery on the rides was spectacular -really nothing could have been better – a five-star experience!!!
Will stay in touch with you guys and who knows it could happen again next year – Michael will probably head up the organization of that but I will certainly recommend Bikecat to anyone looking for a trip overseas biking. Once again thanks – as you said last night Jaume “it was a group of friends getting together ” – we were all one group together.


Hugh – A2 Roadies meets Dali Cycling Tour – April 2015




Paul and Leslie

Paul and Leslie - Bikecat review 2015Thank you, Jaume for providing us with an unforgettable week of cycling and gastronomic delights in your beautiful part of the world.
We are thoroughly impressed at the incredible detail that you put into your operation and with how at home we felt with you, Debbie and all of your team. The passion for cycling that you; Jordi, Albert and Miquel have is infectious. We had many laughs with our group of friends and have a lifetime of memories from our stay with you. Your idyllic setting at the top of the medieval city of Girona along with your top end-bikes; accommodations and Michelin star restaurants have spoiled us for any other bike group.


Paul and Leslie – Girona Cycling Tour – October 2015




Marlene

Bikecat - Tour of Girona 2015THANK YOU
For making this an exceptional biking and gastronomic experience.
Everything about the trip was awesome. The organizing, the ride guiding, the food!
I can’t thank you enough for making this cycling trip to Spain (Catalan) so memorable.
The pictures are spectacular. Thank you for taking these pictures for us to remember the rides!


Marlene – Girona Cycling Tour – October 2015





Steve

Bikecat - Tour of Girona 2015 - Steve“Jaume and his crew put together a fantastic bike tour for our group. Our tour had the right combination of terrain, challenge and safety. They were always friendly and helpful along with being very well organized. The food and accommodations on our Michelin tour were beyond our expectations. Lots of laughs and lots of fun with the BikeCat family. We will be back”


Steve – Girona Cycling Tour – October 2015








Jim

Bikecat - May 2015 - Doc's Road Trip to GIrona - JimSummary:
If you are passionate about bike riding and would like to try riding in Europe for a week, touring out of Girona with Bikecat is for you. Out of a total of seven tours, including Butterfield and Robinson and Back Roads, it provided by far the best one-week tour I have taken in Europe.

Preparation:
Based on the riding information you give him, Jaume, who owns the company, and guides most tours, will send you profiles and lengths of proposed rides for your custom tour. You can then discuss changes as needed. He will print a Road Book with the routes and descriptions and give it to you on arrival. NO other company has even come close to this sort of personalized preparation.
Jaume will also give you any other pretrip advice that you might need: such as how to get to the Bikecat headquarters if traveling by rental car as we were.

Arrival and Accommodations:
Jaume personally greeted us on arrival. He gave us his and our hotel’s contact numbers a few days before the tour. I would strongly suggest staying at the Hotel Historic. It is fifty yards from Bikecat, and a real treat. The family who owns the hotel sees to all your needs in a beautifully restored building situated at the center of the old city which harbors a wealth of Roman and European artifacts and architecture. My wife very much enjoyed that aspect of the stay.

Food:
The food in Girona is fabulous; Jaume took us to three wonderful restaurants, each with a different kind of food (country, haute cuisine, and tapas). He or his guide will also eat lunch with you each if the ride extends past the noon hour. He selects little out-of-the-way places that locals frequent. I was worried about gaining weight. BUT, I didn’t because of the great riding.

The Rides:
Jaume selected rides which were great for me and my friend. We went from the Costa Brava to the high Pyrenees on the French Border. Since I am seventy-three, I need a long day to be followed by a shorter day (30 miles or so). This was not a problem and gave me plenty of recovery time. There are seventy pro cyclists who have houses or apartments in Girona, and the riding is the reason. There are gentle rolling rides all the way up to severe and long climbs. You get to choose. We did the beautiful Costa Brava (had coffee and pastry by the sea) and we climbed the last part of the steep climb up to the Vallter 2000 ski resort on the French border. We then had a fabulous twenty-seven mile descent to a wonderful lunch. Jaume takes photos constantly as you ride; when you get home, you are sent a pictorial record of the ride.


Jim – Girona Cycling Tour – May 2015